The Best Career Advice I Can Give You

Courtney Symons
8 min readFeb 6, 2021

I recently became Shopify’s Editor in Chief. I’m still reeling at the title, the opportunity, and the responsibility. Us faulty humans are so quick to doubt ourselves, and if I paused long enough to let it happen, I’m quite sure I’d go full Alice down the rabbit hole of self-doubt.

Instead, I’m choosing to focus on the fact that I must have done something right to be where I am. In fact, I must have done a few things right. With this forced bout of self-assurance, I’ve decided to write down a few of the biggest lessons I’ve learned in my career that I believe have gotten me where I am. I hope you find them useful, and that perhaps they save you time and anguish.

Here goes.

  1. You are your own worst saboteur

Seriously, no one is trying to sabotage your career quite as well as you are—more specifically, as your self-doubt is. The largest obstacles before you are usually the ones within your own mind. Remember this when your brain tries to trick you into believing you can’t do something, or that you aren’t cut out for your job. Acknowledging and invalidating that resounding voice in your head is the only way I know to shut it up.

2. Make the best decisions you can as quickly as you can

--

--

Courtney Symons

Courtney Symons is Editor in Chief at Shopify. She lives in a log cabin in the woods of Ottawa, Canada. Writer, poet, practicing haikuist.